First off, I have never had a check for that much money in my life. I had hundreds of ides, but since it was made out to both of us the check had to go (I stress had) into the bank and the money not be used.
Guess that is the thing about selling a house that is good....you get the do re mi.
Packing the final two days was a little weird. We have several boxes with all sorts of stuff in them....no rhyme or reason, there micght be sponges with books; or candy with glasses; or papers with chocolate ....I have a lot of chocolate.
The two car garage is full of paint to be recycled, electronics to be recycled, donations for a resale shop, my recycling....and two cars, barely. Actually, I have to back the Honda out to get the van out because I need to park close to the van to get the Honda in.
There is stuff in the garage tha is not ours.....two huge garbage cans, two recycling buckets, an electric scooter....but we are the renters.
Ah.....renters.
While I was doing dishes last night I reached under the sink for a new garbage bag and the box of bags was sopping. Seems the faucet leaks. Nice thing to discover on a Friday night at 10. Actually, leak is not the best description. That implies a drip or two. The faucet gushes. It's a Niagara Falls of leaks. It's a wall of water rolling over the edge while Mickey frantically tries to control it type of leak. We will not be using the sink for a while.
But the worst part was the smoke alarm. There is a sense of irony in the heavens after all. When I finally went to bed, and was in the middle of a great night's sleep, I woke up. No idea why until I heard the chirp. Like a demented cricket. Then another. I realized I had no ladder to reach it at 4 a.m., no battery to replace it at 4 a.m., no expectation it would stop at 4 a.m.
37. That is what I could count to before the next chirp.
Or sure, sometimes it came at 33, sometimes at 39....but I may have been counting faster or slower.
Put my head under the pillow. No help.
Slept with my arms locked tightly above my ears. Great help until my left arm fell asleep and I mistakenly took that as an early sign of a heart attack.
37.
Tried a pillow. No help.
Went to the living room and tried the couch. No help.
Went to the upstairs bedroom, closed the door, slept on an unmade bed with a pillow over my head. Big help. Slept until almost 7:30.
My biggest confusion is how Jackie could sleep through the whole night and not even get bothered by it until I sat down with my morning tea?
No comments:
Post a Comment