I think I am just bored.
I am always looking for something to do, but I don't want to do anything.....which if that makes sense to you, we'll pop a bottle of Indiana red and you can 'splain it to me, Lucy, cause I am clueless.
Example: Bought a hook for dearest to hang her purse on...... two weeks and counting and she still puts in on the floor because I haven't done my two minute job.
But I have played solitaire.
Have lines to learn for a little play this summer....have not worked on those for two weeks. But I have taken some naps.
I am doing a column for the Rochelle News Leader. It is once a month and will begin after my park board sentence, I mean term, ends on Monday. It's a column on local issues.....not funny, not serious, not too negative..... I am sure it will be so popular I will be swarmed by autograph seekers and publishers with book deals.
I finally mowed at Emily's this weekend. She had done it a couple of times but was gone and I needed something to get me outside. Mowing when you don't have a yard is like an unexpected Christmas gift from a crazy aunt. You want to open it, but somehow fear the anticipation is the highlight.
I should keep track of my volunteer hours. Maybe I'll create a weekly listing of hours given and distances travelled......and then not fill out the list or actually lose it like I have done the Tuscany list (three times!).
I should learn to focus more.... and if you replace the o with an i you get a plant! Hmm.....
I was thinking the other day about how I compare with people who are young. We have our strengths.
For example, people under the age of 40 know how to download tunes ... I know how to put that spindle in a 45 rpm record so you can play it on the stereo.
Under 40s know how to text. I can still dial a rotary phone.
Media nuts have multiple controls. I know how to get up and push the channel up or down button on the front of the tv.
Garman and Siri tell younger motorists where to go. I still rely on the voice next to me in the front seat.
The list could go on and on but I think I'll go put up a hangar. And practice lines. And nap.
But first.....a little solitaire.
No comments:
Post a Comment