Living in town does have some advantages.
I'm not going to say anything about not having to mow or shovel snow....especially since I saw Emily's back yard today and thought it actually might need mowing. Seems the dogs fertilize some parts of the yard really well.
Last week I rode my bike to Walgreen's, then to Cypress House for coffee, then around town and home. I talked to Mike and Pat P., who were also out on their bikes. Talked to Steve D. who was out front of his house. If I was in a car I would have missed the chance to debate Blago's 14 year prison term and dream about France.
Everytime I ride the bike path I meet someone. Sometimes I recognize them as we pass and I barely get hi out before they are gone.
The walking part was pretty neat too. I went from the middle school to Wal Mart and was yelled at by AJ., who actually lives near where we are. I always enjoy talking to him and his wife....but standing in the middle o Caron Rd. seemed to not be the right spot.
The walking got me thinking about Rochelle and what makes a town a liveable place.
We don't have a recreation center, complete with indoor pool, splash pad, gym, running track, senior citizen wing, and classroom space, and I really think Rochelle needs that to attract younger families with children. But that is pretty darned expensive.
So what can be done to make Rochelle more attractive besides initiating a dress code for customers at Wal Mart?
One main thing would be for people to pick up the crap that is in yards, along roads, stuck in bushes.....
More sidewalks/bike paths...especially from Caron Road out to Petro.
Drive south down Glidden Road in DeKalb and see how beautiful median strips can be....then look at the blah eastern entrance to Rochelle. A walking/biking path, some landscaping, beautifying the median strip and adding some decorative street lighting would create a more welcoming front door to the Hub City. I won't even mention the south entrance.
Build a bridge over the Kyte on 38 so people can ride bikes from that subdivision on the bikepath without having to cross IL. 38 to get there. That would also create a safer route for junior high kids who have to cross the road to get to school.
Build a path from the bike path to Dairy Queen....just because it gets hot out there sometimes.
Get drivers to obey the laws. Illinois law says stop for a pedestian in the crosswalk. I think that means stop, not swerve around them as the bastard in the gray SUV did to me. Almost wet my pants. And right on red after stop to me implies the light is red and you have stopped. Green arrows do not require you to stop. When you do roll through that red while talking on a cell phone, try not to hit the person crossing the stree, legally, as the bitch in the white Ford almost did Saturday.
Pick up your yard. Put your garbage cans behind the house or next to the house. If you have five cars, don't park them in the yard. Times are tough and paint is expensive, but bending over at the waist to pick up what the garbage man dropped does not cost a thing.
If you have not done so, try walking or biking next time you are running a short errand. Your eyes will be opened and it isn't always going to be pleasant.
No comments:
Post a Comment